Election News

Smaller parties block AIADMK juggernaut in villages

Chennai, Oct 21: Smaller parties have picked up some seats in elections to wards of panchayat unions and town panchayats to halt the ruling AIADMK’s juggernaut in the local body elections of Tamil Nadu.

While the AIADMK seeks to make a clean sweep of the ten Mayoral posts and over three-fourths of the 125 Municipal Chairman posts in the state, parties like the Congress, DMDK, PMK and MDMK have garnered a decent share of the ward member posts in Panchayat unions and town panchayats to gain respectability and a foot-hold at the grassroots level.

The smaller parties have also been able to make a mark at the level of the municipal councilors in several urban areas.

In the indirect elections to posts of Panchayat Unions chairpersons and District Panchayat Board chairpersons which will come up later, the posts of ward members could be crucial. The ruling AIADMK, which has gone to the electotate on its own strength barring a tie-up with some Dalit parties like the RPI and AISMK, may have to seek the support of the smaller parties and also the large number of Independents who have been elected throughout the state. Some of the Independents are rebels of various parties.

As the anti-defection Act does not apply to the local bodies, the indirect elections could cause confusion and a nerve-wracking time for the main parties in their quest for the chairpersons’ posts. Both the AIADMK and the DMK had sought to go it alone but the results at the lower-end of the political spectrum could see them begin their search for the numbers to get them a majority in the Panchayat Union councils and District Panchayat Boards.

Counting commenced for the Tamil Nadu local body elections held in the state on October 17 and October 19. Nearly 1.5 lakh posts are up for grabs including 10 Corporation mayoral contests and 125 Municipalities.

The Results in elections to various local bodies are as follows (as at 6.30 p.m).:

Corporation Mayor: Results 5


Corporation Councillors: Results 414: AIADMK 277 DMK 80 Congress 11 MDMK 8 DMDK 3 BJP 4 CPM 1 Independents 30

Municipal Chairpersons:Results:118/125

AIADMK 86 DMK 20 CPM 2 DMDK 2 MDMK 1 BJP 2 Independents 5

Municipal Councillors: Results: 3,340

AIADMK 1,516 DMK 869 Congress 147 DMDK 112 MDMK 48 PMK 51 BJP 36 CPM 19 CPI 10 Others 14 VCK 10 BSP 1 Independents 507

Town Panchayat chairpersons: Results:514:

AIADMK 281 DMK 116 Congress 24 BJP 13 MDMK 7 CPM 5 DMDK 3 CPI 2 PMK 2 Independents 61

Town Panchayat Ward Results: 7,798:

AIADMK 2,787 DMK 1,771 DMDK 387 Congress 369 BJP 179 PMK 108 CPM 102 MDMK 82 CPI 33 Others 30 VCK 12 RJD 8 PT 7 BSP 2 PB 3 DK 1 AIFB 1 Independents 1,916

Panchayat Union ward member: Results:947

AIADMK 558 DMK 148 Congress 32 DMDK 40 PMK 23 BJP 10 CPM 8 MDMK 4 CPI 9 Independents 112 VCK 1 NCP 1 PT 1

Oct 21, 2011
More News

Post Your Comments
Security Code*
More Election News
Top Stories
Photo Gallery

Trailer of Neethane En Ponvasantham

Trailer of 'Nanban'